Conferences Links:

2020 AAS/AIAA Astrodynamics Specialist Conference

The 2020 AAS/AIAA Astrodynamics Specialist Conference, hosted by the American Astronautical Society (AAS) and cohosted by American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) will be held August 9 - 12, 2020. Due to the pandemic, this conference will be held virtually rather than at the physical site in Lake Tahoe. The conference is organized by the AAS Space Flight Mechanics Committee and the AIAA Astrodynamics Technical Committee.

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 global pandemic, the conference organizers in agreement with officials from the AAS have decided not to conduct an in-person event for the Summer 2020 AAS/AIAA Astrodynamics Specialist Conference. The physical conference that was to be located at the Lake Tahoe Resort Hotel in South Lake Tahoe, California will instead be hosted as a virtual conference.

We will host the virtual conference during the originally scheduled conference dates (August 9-13, 2020). However, the full agenda is to be replaced with sessions available online. We are planning to offer the ability to upload video presentations of papers, and host questions and answer sessions with the speakers. Per previous practice, papers, slides -- and for this summer, videos -- will be available to registered attendees during and after the conference. After the details are worked out, more information will be available on this conference website and through communications with the authors and attendees.

Authors with accepted abstracts will be offered the opportunity to publish their papers in the conference proceedings at a substantially reduced cost than the typical registration fees. To that end, we will extend the abstract deadline to May 31, 2020 and will inform authors if their abstracts are accepted by June 15, 2020. All pre-print papers must be uploaded by Friday July 31, 2020 (23:59:59 Eastern Time); and all video/slide presentations must be uploaded by Friday August 7, 2020 (23:59:59 Eastern Time).

Please note that there will be changes to the Breakwell Student Travel Award due to virtual conference: We will review the Breakwell nominations to select Breakwell awardees as per our usual procedure. We will waive the registration fee for the summer meeting for the Breakwell awardees and will recognize them at the virtual award ceremony. We will also send a certificate in mail acknowledging their award. However, students will get rest of the monetary award of $1000 ($1000 minus registration fee) only if they happen to attend either of the meeting (the winter or summer meeting) in 2021.

While we understand this may be disappointing for many of you, we believe that this is the most prudent course of action at this time to ensure the safety of everyone involved. Thank you for your understanding through all of this. We hope that you and your family stay safe and healthy and look forward to seeing you virtually this summer or in-person at one of our conferences next year.

Abstract, Manuscript, and Video Submissions

Abstracts are to be submitted through the web-based abstract submittal system. Using the web-based system, authors will submit their abstract, author information, preprint, and video presentation before the conference. Authors will also use this site to submit their final manuscript after the conference.

Conference Organization

The virtual conference will follow the same agenda as our usual physical conferences. There will be a Sunday evening welcome session where information will be presented to provide attendees with an orientation on how to access and utilize the virtual resources for the conference.

During the three days of the conference over 300 papers will be allocated into 5 simultaneous sessions with a morning and an afternoon section. Paper pre-prints will be available in advance as in the past. Additionally, for this virtual conference, a 15-minute prerecorded video presentation for each paper will also be available at the beginning of the conference. During the scheduled sessions, each speaker will be available for a question and answer period utilizing a discussion board.

In addition, there will be a live stream panel discussion during the Artemis Special Session, followed by a question and answer period for the papers. Finally, the conference will conclude with a live video presentation of a lecture by this year’s Brouwer Award recipient, Dr. Robert Melton.

Online Conference Registration

Registration can be accessed at

Registration Type AAS or AIAA Member Non-member, includes one-year AAS membership Student or Retired Member Student or Retired Non-member, includes one-year AAS membership
Early (available until 31 July 2020) $190 $290 $100 $145
Late (available beginning 1 Aug 2020) $265 $365 $175 $220
The online registration system is programmed to accept Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express credit cards. NOTE: Registration fees are calculated at the time of payment. Beginning the registration process without completing payment may result in a higher fee being charged as applicable based upon the early/late/on-site fee schedule set by the General Chairs.

Conference Chairs

AAS General Chair

Dr. Kathleen Howell
Purdue University
3235 Armstrong Hall
School of Aeronautics and Astronautics
West Lafayette, IN
(765) 494-5786

AIAA General Chair

Dr. Felix Hoots
The Aerospace Corporation
Systems Engineering Division
7250 Getting Heights
Colorado Springs, CO 80916
(719) 375-6208

AAS Technical Chair

Dr. Roby Wilson
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Mail Stop 301-121
4800 Oak Grove Dr.
Pasadena, CA 91109

AIAA Technical Chair

Dr. Jinjun Shan
104 Petrie Science & Engineering Building
York University
4700 Keele Street
Toronto, ON M3J 1P3, Canada
+1 (416) 736 2100 ext. 77757