Conferences Links:

27th AAS/AIAA Space Flight Mechanics Meeting,
San Antonio, Texas

The 2017 Space Flight Mechanics Meeting, hosted by the American Astronautical Society (AAS) and cohosted by American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA: will be held at the Marriott Plaza in San Antonio, Texas, February 5-9, 2017. The conference is organized by the AAS Space Flight Mechanics Committee and the AIAA Astrodynamics Technical Committee.

Abstract, Presentation and Manuscript Submissions

Abstracts are to be submitted through a web based abstract submittal system. Using the web based system, authors will submit their abstract, author information, presentation slides, and preprint before the conference. Authors will also use this site to submit their final manuscript after the conference.

Online Conference Registration

Attendees to the conference are encouraged to utilize the online registration system. Click on Online Conference Registration. Registering online will provide several benefits. You will avoid the lines at the registration table and you will have free access to preprints. Free access to preprints will only be available to people registering through the online system.

(On or before Dec 23, 2016)
(On or before Jan 20, 2017)
(After Jan 20, 2017)
Full Registration - Member (AAS or AIAA) $550 $620 $720
Full Registration - Non-Member (AAS or AIAA) $650 $720 $820
Registration Retiree - Member (AAS or AIAA) $200 $270 $370
Registration Retiree - Non-Member (AAS or AIAA) $250 $320 $420
Registration - Student (incl. 1 yr AAS membership) $200 $270 $370
The registration fee for AAS or AIAA members is $550 (early), $620 (normal), $720 (walkup). The registration fee for AAS or AIAA member students/retiree is $200 (early), $270 (normal), $370 (walkup). Student registration includes a free one year membership to AAS. Non-members have an additional fee of $100 (full-registration) or $50 (retiree). The online registration system is programmed to accept Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express credit cards.

"Normal" rates go into effect after midnight on December 23, 2016.  "Walkup" rates go into effect after midnight on January 20, 2017.

Attendees may still register in person at the registration table (walkup).

Conference Hotel

Marriott Plaza San Antonio [General information]
555 S Alamo St
San Antonio, TX 78205
TEL: (210) 229-1000 [Hotel], (800) 228-9290 [Mariott reservation line]
FAX: (210) 229-1418

Conference Reservations Website
Rate: $120/night

Attendees may register at the specific group website listed above. Group arrival is 2/5/2017 and Group Departure is 2/9/2017. Reservations must be made no later than 1/13/2017. Reservations requested after this date will be accepted based upon availability and subject to the hotel's prevailing rate.

Alternate Blocked Hotels

If you have difficulty booking a room at Marriott Plaza San Antonio, which may particularly be true at this point if you want to stay Wednesday night, we have blocked a limited number of rooms at two other hotels.

Conference Chairpersons

AAS General Chair

Dr. Frederick Leve
Air Force Research Laboratory
3550 Aberdeen Ave. SE
Kirtland AFB, NM 87117-5776
(505) 853-7476

AIAA General Chair

Dr. Jon Sims
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology
4800 Oak Grove Drive
M/S: 301-121
Pasadena, CA 91109-8099
(818) 354-0313

AAS Technical Chair

Dr. Jay McMahon
Colorado Center for Astrodynamics Research
ECNT 320, 431 UCB
University of Colorado
Boulder, CO 80309-0431
(303) 492-3944

AIAA Technical Chair

Dr. Yanping Guo
The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
11100 Johns Hopkins Road
Laurel, MD 20723-6099
(240) 228-7541 yanping.guo(AT)