Conferences Links:

26th AAS/AIAA Space Flight Mechanics Meeting, Napa, CA

The 2016 Space Flight Mechanics Meeting, hosted by the American Astronautical Society (AAS) and cohosted by American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) will be held in Napa, CA, February 14-18, 2016. The conference is organized by the AAS Space Flight Mechanics Committee and the AIAA Astrodynamics Technical Committee.

Abstract, Presentation and Manuscript Submissions

Abstracts are to be submitted through a web based abstract submittal system. Using the web based system, authors will submit their abstract, author information and preprint before the conference. Authors will also use this site to submit their final manuscript after the conference.

Online Conference Registration

Attendees to the conference are encouraged to utilize the online registration system. Click on Online Conference Registration. Registering online will provide several benefits. You will avoid the lines at the registration table and you will have free access to preprints. Free access to preprints will only be available to people registering through the online system.

The registration fee for AAS or AIAA members is $525 (early), $595 (normal), $695 (walkup). The registration fee for students/retiree is $220 (early), $290 (normal), $390 (walkup). Non-members have an additional fee of $100. The online registration system is programmed to accept Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express credit cards.

"Normal" rates go into effect January 1, 2016.  "Walkup" rates go into effect on February 1, 2016.

Attendees may still register in person at the registration table (walkup).

Conference Information

The preliminary PDF conference program (as of December 15, 2015) can be downloaded using the link at the top left of this page. Please check this website often — this program will be updated frequently and is subject to change! Physical paper copies of this program will not be provided. Registrants desiring a traditional paper copy should download and pre-print the final PDF version when it is available.

An online conference program will be available at a later date. The online program allows conference attendees to build their own personal itinerary and access it while at the conference if the registrant has a computer/phone with internet access.

Follow us on Facebook:

Conference Hotel

Embassy Suites Napa Valley
1075 California Boulevard
Napa, CA, 94559
(707) 253-9540 (voice)
(707) 253-9202 (fax)
Check-in: 4:00 pm
Check-out: 12:00 pm

Conference Reservations

Rate: $149/night
Attendees may register at the personal group web page listed below or they may call the reservations department at 1-800-EMBASSY. Please be sure to mention the group code AAS or the group name "American Astronautical Society" when making reservations in order to receive the group rate of $149 (or prevailing government per diem). Group arrival is 2/14/2016 and Group Departure is 2/18/2016. Reservations must be made no later than January 22, 2016. Reservations requested after this date will be accepted based upon availability and subject to the hotel's prevailing rate. A limited number of rooms are available at the group rate 3 days pre/post group arrival and departure.

For any pre or post group dates questions, please contact Marianne Hollman at 707-320-9511 or Marianne.Hollman(AT)

Group Reservation Page:


We've been informed that the conference hotel (Embassy Suites Napa Valley) is sold out on some nights and can no longer accept any new reservations at the conference rate on other nights since our room block has been filled. They have provided us with a list of other hotels in the area (see below) that you can call or go online to seek accommodations should you still need them. These hotels have various rates and may or may not have availability on all nights, so we suggest checking around to find one that best suits your requirements. It may also be advantageous to book 2/14/2016 separately from the rest of the dates of your stay because the rates offered are higher for that night than other nights.

Conference Chairmen

AAS General Chair

Dr. Martin T. Ozimek
The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory
11100 Johns Hopkins Road
Laurel, MD 20723-6099
(443) 778-1569

AIAA General Chair

Ms. Angela Bowes
NASA Langley Research Center
MS 489
Hampton, VA 23681
(757) 864-2364

AAS Technical Chair

Dr. Renato Zanetti
NASA Johnson Space Center
2101 NASA Parkway
Houston, TX 77058
(281) 483-7435

AIAA Technical Chair

Dr. Ryan Russell
University of Texas at Austin
Department of Aerospace Engineering and Engineering Mechanics
1 University Station, C0600
Austin, TX 78712-0235
(512) 471-4190