Conferences Links:

AAS Kyle T. Alfriend Astrodynamics Symposium
Monterey, California

For more than forty years, Dr. Kyle T. (Terry) Alfriend has been making key contributions to our understanding of the flight mechanics and control of space vehicles. His career includes an unusually rich mix of experience in academia, industry and government. His innovations appear prominently in subjects as diverse as analytical celestial mechanics, satellite formation flying, attitude dynamics and control, surveillance of space, probabilistic problems in astrodynamics including probability-of-collision formulations used by NASA to ensure safety of manned space flight, and application of space systems to intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance. It is remarkable that papers from every phase of his career continue to be cited regularly at conferences and in journals. In addition to his academic and industrial posts, Dr. Alfriend has served as Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Guidance, Control and Dynamics, as Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of the Astronautical Sciences and as Associate Editor of the International Journal of Celestial Mechanics and Dynamical Astronomy. Our profession has recognized Dr. Alfriend with many high honors, including election to the National Academy of Engineering, election to the International Academy of Astronautics, and citation with the Navy Meritorious Civilian Service Award. He is a Fellow of both the AIAA and the AAS and has received both the Mechanics and Control of Flight Award and the Dirk Brouwer Award from these societies. In 2005, he received the AAAS International Scientific Cooperation Award for his decade-long efforts to organize the US/Russian Space Surveillance Workshop series. He continues today as one of the two principal American organizers of this unique contribution to international understanding. Currently, Dr. Alfriend is the Texas Engineering Experiment Station Distinguished Research Chair Professor of Aerospace Engineering at Texas A&M University and a Visiting Professor at the Naval Postgraduate School.

Abstract and Manuscript Submissions

Presentations and papers are solicited on topics related to astrodynamics, including but not limited to orbit dynamics, perturbations, and stability; probabilistic problems in astrodynamics; rendezvous, relative motion, proximity missions, and formation flying; dynamics and control of large space structures and tethers; spacecraft guidance, navigation, and control; orbit determination and space surveillance tracking; attitude dynamics, determination, and control; dynamical systems theory as applied to space flight problems; and artificial and natural space debris. The abstract deadline is 26 February 2010. A one-page abstract along with a short one paragraph abstract (for the program) are required. Submissions are accepted through the AAS Space Flight Mechanics website Abstract and Manuscript Submission.

Final manuscripts are required before the symposium. Proceedings will be issued, and a select number of journal-quality papers will be considered for a special issue of the Journal of Astronautical Sciences.

Hotel Information

The conference venue is the luxurious Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa, occupying a spectacular oceanfront location offering expansive views of Monterey Peninsula. Situated on historic Cannery Row, it is within walking distance of the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, lively restaurants, eclectic shops, and various recreational activities. The hotel is offering a substantially discounted rate of $175/night for this event. Reservations may be made by calling the hotel directly at 800-334-3999 and referencing the group name, "Kyle T. Alfriend Astrodynamics" or the group code, AAS0510. Attendees are strongly encouraged to make their reservations early in order to guarantee the group rate. The cutoff date for the group rate is 17 April 2010.

Online Conference Registration

Registration is now open. All attendees are encouraged to utilize the online registration system. Click on Online Conference Registration The online registration system is programmed to accept Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express credit cards.

Registration fees are set at $550 per person. This fee covers all events, including the Monday evening welcoming reception, technical sessions on Tuesday and Wednesday, breakfasts and lunches on Tuesday and Wednesday, and the much-anticipated banquet on Wednesday evening. Registrants will also receive full proceedings of the symposium on CD. Accompanying guests may pay $125 if they wish to attend the Monday reception and Wednesday banquet.

On-site registration will commence at 3pm on Monday, 17 May, at the Monterey Plaza Hotel. We look forward to your participation.

Conference Chairmen

General Chair

Dr. Kim Luu
Air Force Research Laboratory, Det 15
535 Lipoa Parkway, Suite 200
Kihei, HI 96753
Tel: 808-874-1608
Fax: 808-874-1640

Technical Chair

Dr. Shannon Coffey
Naval Research Laboratory
Code 8233
4555 Overlook Avenue
Washington, DC 20375-5355
Tel: 202-767-2818
Fax: 202-404-7785

Program Chair

Dr. Chris Sabol
Air Force Research Laboratory, Det 15
535 Lipoa Parkway, Suite 200
Kihei, HI 96753
Tel: 808-874-1594
Fax: 808-874-1640

Program Chair

Dr. John L. Junkins
Texas A&M University
Dept. of Aerospace Eng.
3141 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843-3141
Tel: 979-845-3912
Fax: 979-845-6051

Program Chair

Dr. Paul W. Schumacher, Jr.
Air Force Research Laboratory, Det 15
535 Lipoa Parkway, Suite 200
Kihei, HI 96753
Tel: 808-891-7708
Fax: 808-874-1640

Program Chair

Dr. I. Michael Ross
Naval Postgraduate School
Department of Mechanical and Astronautical Engineering
Mail Code: MAE/Ro
Monterey, CA 93943
Tel: 831-656-2074
Fax: 831-656-2238