Online Conference Registration

Call For Papers

Abstract and Paper Submission

Markley Symposium Papers

aas logo

F. Landis Markley Astronautics Symposium

Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa and Marina
Cambridge, Maryland, USA

June 29-July 2, 2008

In cooperation with the American Astronautical Society
Sponsors: University at Buffalo-State University of New York, Hubble Space Telescope Project,
Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company, Computer Sciences Corporation, General Dynamics
The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, Spacecraft System Engineering Services
American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA)-Baltimore Section

Dr. F. Landis Markley has been one of the pillars of spacecraft attitude estimation as well as one of our most important mission engineers. Joining the Computer Sciences Corporation in 1974, he established himself quickly as an expert on all aspects of spacecraft attitude mission support. He moved to the United States Naval Research Laboratory in 1978 and to his current location at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center in 1985. Over more than three decades, he has supported more than twenty space missions, most notably the Hubble Space Telescope, the Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission, and the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe. His influence on spacecraft attitude estimation is observable throughout the practices of our profession. He has been particularly prominent in the development of analytical tools and operational software for spacecraft attitude covariance analysis and for his numerous and fundamental studies of Kalman filtering and batch techniques for spacecraft attitude estimation. He is the author of many classic papers in spacecraft attitude estimation, dynamics, and control; and was one of the principal contributors to the book Spacecraft Attitude Determination and Control (1978), which has been essential to the education of many astronautical engineers. He was elected Fellow of the AIAA in 1998 and of the AAS in 2007 and has been a Goddard Senior Fellow since 2000. He is a recipient of the NASA Exceptional Service Medal (1994 and 2005), the AIAA Mechanics and Control of Flight Award (1998), and the AAS Dirk Brouwer Award (2005).

Abstract and Manuscript Submissions

Papers from all areas of astronautics will be considered, including but not limited to: attitude determination, control and dynamics; orbit determination and mechanics; trajectory design; space-vehicle navigation; sensor calibration; formation flying, navigation and control; and multi-body and flexible-body dynamics. For abstract submission, a one-page abstract is sufficient. A short one paragraph abstract will also be required for the program. Please include your email and standard mailing addresses at the head of your long, one page abstract. Abstracts can be submitted through the AAS Space Flight Mechanics website, The final manuscript should be consistent with standard AAS conference format. All general correspondence and the submission of abstracts and papers should be directed to the symposium chair, Dr. John L. Crassidis.

Hotel Information

The Hyatt Regency Chesapeake Bay Golf Resort, Spa & Marina on the Eastern Shore of the Chesapeake Bay is a Four-Diamond resort, that boasts a magnificent setting and several nearby attractions. A reception is planned for Sunday evening, June 29. The symposium banquet and a plenary address by Dr. Markley will take place on June 30. Because the number of rooms available for the symposium is limited, please reserve your room as early as possible. Reservations can be made by calling 1-800-233-1234. Mention that you are attending the Markley Symposium.

Online Conference Registration

Attendees to the conference are encouraged to utilize the online registration system. Click on Online Conference Registration. Registering online will provide several benefits. You will avoid the lines at the registration table and you will have free access to preprints. Free access to preprints will only be available to people registering through the online system. Registering online will also reduce the workload on the conference organizers.

Attendees to the conference are encouraged to utilize the online registration system. Click on Online Conference Registration. The online registration system is programmed to accept Visa, Mastercard, Discover and American Express credit cards. The conference registration site will begin accepting registrations for this conference On May 1, 2008.

Conference Chairmen

General Chair

Dr. John L. Crassidis
University at Buffalo
Dept. of Mechanical & Aerospace Eng.
318 Jarvis Hall
Amherst, NY 14260-4400
Tel: 716-645-2593 ext. 2262
Fax: 716-645-3668
Email: johnc(AT)


Dr. Yaakov Oshman
Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Aerospace Engineering
737 Lady Davis Bldg
32000 Haifa, Israel
Tel: +972-4-829-3803
Fax: +972-4-822-0477
Email: yaakov.oshman(AT)

Dr. John L. Junkins
Texas A&M University
Dept. of Aerospace Eng.
3141 TAMU
College Station, TX 77843-3141
Tel: 979-845-3912
Fax: 979-845-6051
Email: junkins(AT)

Local Chair

Dr. Julie K. Thienel
US Naval Academy
Aerospace Engineering Department
590 Holloway Rd
Annapolis, MD 21402-5042
Tel: 410-293-6405
Fax: 410-293-2591
Email: Thienel(AT)