8th AAS/AIAA Space Flight Mechanics Meeting

February 9 - 11, 1998

Embassy Suites Hotel

Monterey, CA

ABSTRACT DEADLINE: September 15, 1997

The eighth annual AAS/AIAA Space Flight Mechanics Meeting will be held at the Embassy Suites Hotel, Monterey, CA, on February 9 - 11, 1998. This meeting is cosponsored by the American Astronautical Society (AAS) and the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). The meeting is organized by the AAS Space Flight Mechanics Technical Committee and the AIAA Astrodynamics Technical Committee. Papers are sought from all areas of astrodynamics, including but not limited to:

Papers dealing with current or future missions are encouraged. Examples of these include Galileo, Cassini, Discovery-class missions, Space Station, Space Station assembly, reusable launch vehicles, Mars Global Surveyor, Mars Pathfinder, NEAR, and Mission to Planet Earth programs.

Papers will be accepted on the basis of extended abstracts of approximately 1000 words. These abstracts should contain a clear and concise statement of the problem addressed and the results obtained as well as a few supporting figures and/or tables. The abstracts should have a cover page that contains the names, affiliations, mail addresses, telephone numbers, fax numbers, and email addresses of all authors, with one author designated as the primary point of contact. The deadline for submitting abstracts is September 15, 1997. Letters of acceptance with complete instructions will be sent to authors by November 1, 1997. Authors should then confirm that they will complete the paper for the conference. Final manuscripts are due at the time of the meeting. Note: authors whose papers are not available in printed form at the time of the meeting will not be allowed to present their paper.

In addition, proposals are solicited from prospective session organizers for appropriate special sessions such as panel discussions, invited speakers/papers, workshops, and mini-symposia. Prospective special session, workshop, and/or mini-symposium organizers must submit a proposal consisting of a title, brief description of less than 500 words, list of speakers, and the titles of their presentations, or a list of activities.

Two copies of the abstracts or special session/workshop proposals should be submitted, one each, to the Technical Chairs, Mr. Jay Middour and Mr. Lester Sackett, by fax or mail at the addresses listed below by September 15, 1997. If possible, in addition, a Microsoft Word file should be submitted by floppy disk or email to each.

Information about the conference, registration, and hotel arrangements may be obtained from the General Chairs listed below. Conference information can also be obtained from the AAS Space Flight Mechanics Committee web site (www.space-flight.org).
AAS Technical Chair

Mr. Jay W. Middour
Naval Research Laboratory
Code 8103
4555 Overlook Ave., SW
Washington, DC 20375-5320
email: middour@ssdd.nrl.navy.mil
AAS General Chair

Dr. Louis A. D'Amario
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
MS 301-276
4800 Oak Grove Drive
Pasadena, CA 91109-8099
818-393-5214 FAX
email: louis.damario@jpl.nasa.gov
AIAA Technical Chair

Mr. Lester L. Sackett
Draper Laboratory
MS 77
555 Technology Square
Cambridge, MA 02139-3563
617-258-2555 FAX
email: lsackett@draper.com
AIAA General Chair

Mr. Dennis V. Byrnes
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
MS 301-142
4800 Oak Grove Drive
Pasadena, CA 91109-8099
818-393-9900 FAX
email: dennis.v.byrnes@jpl.nasa.gov